If you are licensed in North Carolina and get an out of state speeding ticket, prepaying the fine could cause you to lose your license! Many North Carolinians do not realize that a law on the books requires a 30 day license suspension if convicted of speeding more than 15 miles per hour over the limit while driving at least 55 miles per hour. A second offense of this type carries a 60 day license suspension.
As a Virginia traffic attorney, I represent many residents of North Carolina who are charged with both simple speeding as well as reckless driving. The I-95 corridor through Virginia has a minimum speed limit of 55 miles per hour, meaning that North Carolina drivers are at a significant risk for suspension in their home state if caught speeding in Virginia. I routinely assist North Carolina drivers who are facing this severe penalty. If you are a North Carolina driver stopped by the police for speeding or reckless driving in Virginia, I can help you avoid license suspension and DMV points, in many cases without the need for you to appear in court. Contact my office at (804)288-3600 to find out how I can help you with your case.